IMCA 2019 Awards celebrate safety and environmental sustainability initiatives

Posted on

The International Marine Contractors Association (IMCA) recently announced the winners of its 2019 Safety and Environmental Sustainability Awards at its Health, Safety & Environmental Seminar in Amsterdam.

Subsea 7 and Eidesvik won the Environmental Sustainability Award for the Hybrid Life of Field Vessel ‘Seven Viking’.

Heerema won the Safety Award for their Tug Barge Access Gangway (T-BAG).

IMCA’s CEO Allen Leatt said: “We always say that HSE is the golden thread running through everything that we and our members do. Both IMCA and our Members recognise the growing significance of sustainability and as such it is a strategic theme for us.”

“We thank all the members who entered submissions and look forward to hearing more about their initiatives as they are developed further. We congratulate those shortlisted and the winners.”

About the winning entries

Hybrid Life of Field Vessel ‘Seven Viking’: In January 2019, the vessel ‘Seven Viking’ was successfully converted from conventional to hybrid power. This involved the installation of a battery system and land-based power supply for use in port. The conversion as resulted in significantly lower fuel consumption and association reduction in carbon emissions. Results after 8 months in service show fuel savings of 15.8% corresponding to an annual reduction of around 2,400 tonnes of CO2

Tug Barge Access Gangway (T-BAG): Technically, the T-BAG is comprised of a motion-controlled gangway that is lowered from a tug onto a barge to allow mooring crews to walk directly onto barges without having to scramble up pilot ladders and nets. The vessel motions are minimised by a pivoting and sliding gangway that ensures the perfect delivery of seastate transfers despite challenging conditions.

Details of the timetable for the 2020 Awards programme will be announced during Q1 2020 and winners will be announced and presented at the IMCA Annual Seminar on 6 October in London.

Further information on the winning and shortlisted entries, is now available on the IMCA [insert link]

Judging Panel and Criteria

The Judging Panel for the awards was made up of two representatives from the IMCA Board of Directors, the Chairman of the HSSE Committee, the Vice Chairman of the Environmental Sustainability Committee and relevant members of the IMCA Secretariat. In order to ensure impartiality, the final members of the panel were only confirmed once all submissions had been received.

The Environmental Sustainability Award was assessed by our judging panel on such matters as the scale of environmental benefit; innovation; commitment of the workforce; social and economic benefits; quantification of the improvements; and the possibilities for future development and entries certainly brought out many of these criteria.

For the Safety Award the criteria included visibility and promotion of safety with the workforce; successful adoption and buy-in; improvement in safety behaviours; improved safety performance; and the possibilities for future development.

The awards were presented by IMCA Board Member Andy Seymour, Global Director Operational Excellence Fugro (pictured below).

Subsea 7 award presented to Arjen Leenderste, HSE Manager, Norway (pictured left below)

Heerema award presented to Vincent Doedée, Sustainability Advisor (pictured right below)

The Award winners

Fuller descriptions of the two winning entries in the Awards is online here and photographs are attached with this release

HSSE information is at

Details of IMCA’s Environmental Sustainability committee are online at