Basic Safety Training Requirements for Vessel Personnel Employed in the Offshore Renewable Energy Sector

The International Marine Contractors Association (IMCA) is the international trade association representing offshore, marine and underwater engineering companies.

IMCA promotes improvements in quality, health, safety, environmental and technical standards through the publication of information notes, codes of practice and by other appropriate means.

Members are self-regulating through the adoption of IMCA guidelines as appropriate. They commit to act as responsible members by following relevant guidelines and being willing to be audited against compliance with them by their clients.

There are five core committees that relate to all members:

  • Competence & Training
  • Contracts & Insurance
  • Health, Safety, Security & Environment
  • Lifting & Rigging
  • Marine Policy & Regulatory Affairs

The Association is organised through four distinct divisions, each covering a specific area of members’ interests – Diving, Marine, Offshore Survey and Remote Systems & ROV.

There are also five regions which facilitate work on issues affecting members in their local geographic area – Asia‑Pacific, Europe & Africa, Middle East & India, North America and South America.