Skip to content

IMCA Launches 2021 Awards Nominations

Published on 7 November 2021

Nominations are now being accepted for the International Marine Contractors Association’s (IMCA) 2021 Awards programme presenting an opportunity to showcase our Member company initiatives in the key areas of Safety and Environmental Sustainability.

Allen Leatt, Chief Executive explains:

“Since launching our awards programme in 2018 we have received entries showcasing a wide range of initiatives and I look forward to seeing this year’s submissions. 2021 has brought new challenges and our Members continue to rise to those challenges by generating new solutions.”

The Judging Panel comprises two representatives from the IMCA Board of Directors, the Chairman or Vice Chairman of the HSSE Committee, the Chairman or Vice Chairman of the Environmental Sustainability Committee, and relevant members of the IMCA Secretariat. To ensure impartiality, the final members of the judging panel will be confirmed once all submissions have been received.

IMCA Contact

Allen Leatt
Chief Executive

The Environmental Sustainability Award will be assessed on advancing environmental sustainability in areas such as the scale of environmental benefit; innovation; commitment of the workforce; social and economic benefits; quantification of the improvements; and the possibilities for future development. For the Safety Award the criteria will include visibility and promotion of safety with the workforce; successful adoption and buy-in; improvement in safety behaviours; improved safety performance; and the possibilities for future development.

Safety lies at the heart of IMCA’s work, the association’s Chief Executive, Allen Leatt is proud to describe it as:

“the golden thread running through everything that we do”.

Environmental Sustainability is a key strategic theme for IMCA and we continue to build on our Recommended Code of Practice we launched in May 2021.

DETAILS OF HOW TO ENTER are included below and in the Awards Flyer (below)

How to enter

All entries should be submitted via email to [email protected] with the closing date for submissions being 20 January 2022

The winners will be based on the best environmental sustainability and safety initiatives developed by our member companies during the last two years. Entries submitted in previous years are permitted providing further developments and benefits of the programme can be clearly measured and demonstrated.

Entries are invited for:

  • a specific environmental project or a grouping of environmental projects and/or
  • a specific safety initiative or a grouping of safety initiatives.

For each submission:

Mandatory requirements:

  1. Abstract of up to 150 words describing the award entry
  2. Up to 500 words describing/illustrating the tangible impact on business and industry
  3. Submit graphs and data demonstrating the impact of initiative – this element is essential to demonstrate influence or effect


  • Provide a more detailed explanation of no more than two pages of text explaining the initiative and showing the results including photographs or visual illustrations.

Entries submitted in previous years are permitted providing further developments and benefits of the programme can clearly be measured and demonstrated.

Closing Date:

The closing date for submission is 20 January 2022

Please submit your entry to: [email protected]