Skip to content

OPITO Offshore Crane Operator (OCO) Standards

OPITO has completed its development of the OPITO Offshore Crane Operator standards; these have been published and will soon be available from the OPITO Standards Library at The matrix (Appendix 1) and flow diagram (Appendix 2) included below offer an overview of how the standards will operate. Please note that there are a total of three stages (1, 2, and 3), and four (4) underpinning standards:
  1. OCO Stage 1 (Introductory) Training
  2. OCO Stage 2 Training
  3. OCO Stage 2 Competence Assessment
  4. OCO Stage 3 Competence Assessment
IMCA intends to carry out a gap analysis of the new OPITO standards against the existing Norwegian crane standards; this will be developed in due course and published separately. If you have any comments or questions please contact Neil Evans.

Originally issued with the following reference(s): IMCA EA 09/12

Information Note Details

Published date: 18 December 2012
Information note ID:1148

Information Note Details

Published date: 18 December 2012
Information note ID: 1148

IMCA’s store terms and conditions ( apply to all downloads from IMCA’s website, including this document.

IMCA makes every effort to ensure the accuracy and reliability of the data contained in the documents it publishes, but IMCA shall not be liable for any guidance and/or recommendation and/or statement herein contained. The information contained in this document does not fulfil or replace any individual’s or Member's legal, regulatory or other duties or obligations in respect of their operations. Individuals and Members remain solely responsible for the safe, lawful and proper conduct of their operations.