Skip to content

IMCA successfully retains ISO 9001 and 27001 certification

Published on 31 January 2023

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is defined as the internationally recognised standard for Quality Management Systems (QMS). It is the most widely used QMS standard in the world, with over 1 million certificates issued to organisations in 178 countries.  It provides a framework and set of principles that ensure a common-sense approach to the management of your organisation to consistently satisfy customers and other stakeholders. In simple terms, ISO 9001 certification provides the basis for effective processes and effective people to deliver an effective product or service time after time.

ISO 27001

ISO 27001 is the standard created by the International Organisation for Standardization which deals with Information Security Management and is a way of ensuring that information security risks are managed effectively. The standard helps organisations to establish and maintain an effective Information Security Management System (ISMS) using a continual improvement approach.

IMCA Contact

Mark Ford
Marine & Quality Manager

Mark Ford, IMCA’s Marine & Quality Manager stated:

Quality improvement is part of IMCA’s strategy, for the fourth year in a row in this surveillance audit, there were zero non-conformities and zero opportunities for improvement– a great achievement for the whole team.

The auditor from the British Assessment Bureau was extremely complimentary about our systems and the associated processes we have in place. He stated that IMCA’s approach towards quality management is one of an organisation that lives and breathes quality – he didn’t feel that we all rushed to prepare for this audit, but that we all genuinely work towards the audit every single day.

Thanks go to our internal auditors who ensure we keep the processes in our integrated management system in good shape. Our overall approach in this area can only assist us in improving our services to our members.