Skip to content

Recognising exceptional bravery at sea 

Published on 11 March 2024

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) is looking to recognise exceptional acts of bravery with a call for nominations for the IMO Honours for Exceptional Bravery at Sea 2024. 

Established by the IMO to provide international recognition for those who have risked their own life to perform acts of exceptional bravery or displayed outstanding courage to save life at sea or mitigate damage to the marine environment, previous winners have also demonstrated extraordinary seamanship skills in often challenging conditions. 

The honours – which cover the period from 1 March 2023 to 29 February 2024 – offer three categories of recognition – the award, certificates of commendation, and letters of commendation. To support those interested in applying, the IMO has produced a guide with more information on the process. The website also has profiles of previous winners

Nominations can be submitted by any IMO Member State, intergovernmental organisation in cooperation with IMO, and non-governmental organisation in consultative status with IMO – such as IMCA – via an online application form. 

Commenting on the Honours, Margaret Fitzgerald, Head of Legal and Regulatory Affairs, IMCA said: “We’re delighted to be supporting the prestigious IMO Honours for Exceptional Bravery at Sea this year, and more than happy to support IMCA Members interested in making worthy nominations.” 

IMCA Members interested in nominating via IMCA are invited to get in touch with Margaret Fitzgerald. Submissions are open until Monday 15 April 2024. 

IMCA Contact

Margaret Fitzgerald
Head of Legal & Regulatory Affairs