Skip to content

Safety and Environmental Awards 2019

Published on 7 October 2019

Following the success of the inaugural awards in 2018 when TechnipFMC won the Environmental Sustainability Award for the ‘Elimination of employee generated single-use plastics’; and the Safety Award was won jointly by MMA Offshore for its strategy and plans on ‘Target 365: A perfect day every day’ and Subsea 7 for ‘Driving IMCA’s Resilience Awareness Programme’, we are now running our awards programme on an annual basis.

The awards will be presented during IMCA’s HSSE Seminar on 19 November in Amsterdam.

The winners will be based on the best environmental sustainability and safety initiatives developed by our member companies during the last two years. Entries submitted in previous years are permitted providing further developments and benefits of the programme can be demonstrated.

How to enter
You can submit:
• an entry for a specific environmental project or a grouping of environmental projects and/or
• an entry for a specific safety initiative or a grouping of safety initiatives.
For each submission:
1. Write an abstract of up to 150 words, and
2. Provide a more detailed explanation of no more than two pages of text explaining the initiative and showing the results.
3. Submit photographs, graphs and data demonstrating the impact of initiative
4. The closing date for submission is 16 October 2019
Please submit your entry to: [email protected]

Criteria for the Environmental Sustainability Award
The judging criteria will include matters such as: the scale of environmental benefit; innovation; commitment of the workforce; social and economic benefits; quantification of the improvements; and the possibilities for future development.

Criteria for the Safety Award
The judging criteria will include matters such as: the visibility and promotion of safety with the workforce; successful adoption and buy-in by the workforce; improvement in safety behaviours; improved safety performance; and the possibilities for future development.

For more information on HSSE Seminar and how to register to attend visit the seminar webpage 

Terms & Conditions
All entries must be made with the full knowledge and co-operation of the member company.
IMCA will appoint a judging panel, who will assess all entries and draw up a shortlist of three (maximum) finalists.
The judges’ decision is final and binding; no correspondence will be entered into. The finalists will be notified by 31 October 2019.

See the Awards flyer for more information