Skip to content

Recent election update – Offshore Survey Committee

IMCA’s Offshore Survey Committee is classed as a Divisional Committee which means its remit covers the specific areas of Members’ primary interest and form the basis of the choice of Membership category to which they belong. IMCA has four Divisional Committees: Diving, Marine, Offshore Survey and Remote Systems & ROV.

IMCA’s Offshore Survey Division Management Committee addresses the techniques, equipment and skills of offshore positioning and hydrographic surveying. It plays an important role in setting standards and good practice in this technology-driven sector of our industry.
The Committee’s activities include the development and publishing of a wide range of up to date guidance documentation on a variety of surveying techniques. Activities also cover the qualification and competence of offshore surveying personnel through our suite of assessment frameworks. This is critical in an industry sector which taps into the freelance labour market.

Involvement in IMCA’s Committees is normally on a three-year basis with the Chair and Vice-Chair selected by the Committee Members.

Having been Chair of the Offshore Survey Committee for six years Mike Liddell of Fugro stood down; however the Committee is delighted that Mike will continue to be involved as a representative from the Digitalisation Core Committee. Consequently, the committee chose Mike Clark of Subsea 7 as the new Chair. Dave Matthews of TechnipFMC remains the Vice-Chair.

The current membership of the Offshore Survey Committee can be seen by browsing to

< Return to Making Waves - May 2021

Making Waves logo


Feedback and suggestions for future articles are welcome: [email protected]


Online signup coming soon - in the meantime, please email [email protected]